I just finished watching the season finale of "The Shield", probably the best series on regular cable, well at least until the new season's of Nip/Tuck and Damages start, and I have to say that I was shocked by the ending. Well if you've never seen it, "The Shield" centers on a corrupt cop, Vic Mackey, and the strike-team he leads. So a few seasons back one of the members of the strike-team, Shane, killed his friend and fellow strike-team member Liam, to save his own ass. Liam was Vic's best friend and was usually just the one hanging around while Vic and Shane were doing' dirt. So naturally Vic wants to find the person behind Liam's murder and he even tortures and kills a partially innocent big time Mexican gang leader that he thought was responsible for Liam's death. That was Season 5. Season 6 consisted of the strike team trying to stay under the radar of Det. Kavanaugh(Forest Whitaker) who suspects the strike teams corrupt activities and ultimately fails to convict them of any wrongdoings. Now that you've caught up lets talk about the current season. To sum up this season, Vic sets up Shane in a meeting between the Mexicans and the Armenians, who don't get along to say the least, and tries to get Shane killed in the mix. Well it didn't work and Shane is pissed and plans to retaliate but Vic still thinks that Shane is clueless as to what happened. Shane retaliates by black-mailing a pimp into killing Ronnie, another member of the strike-team, but he fails, getting caught in the process and he is coerced into telling the cops that Shane sent him to kill Ronnie. When Shane saw that the pimp was going to reveal that he was responsible for the attempt on Ronnie's Life, He runs for it. Vic resigns and plans to go after Shane on his own. The cops convince Vic's wife into helping them catch Vic and she cooperates. Vic makes a deal that would supposedly give both Ronnie and himself immunity from all the crimes they committed. The deal goes bad and Ronnie ends up getting left out of it. The cops get a tip from Shane's neighbor saying that they saw him in his house.(Remember: Shane is on the run and is a fugitive)Shane his pregnant and injured wife, Mara,and their son are in the house planning their next move, but Mara is still trying to cope with stab wounds that she got trying to protect Shane in an attempt to rob some of his old friends. The cops enter the house to find Shane in the bathroom on the toilet, seconds later he puts a gun in his mouth and pulls the trigger...well you know what happened there. So after Shane commits suicide, the cops search the rest of the house for his wife and child. They enter the bedroom to find his pregnant wife Mara and their young son dead in their bed. Shane later reveals in a suicide note that he put some type of prescription drugs in their drinks, which in turn killed them. The show ends with Vic getting off with a desk job and sadly, I can't say the same for Ronnie, who most like will be spending the rest of his life in prison. This show ended an exact 180 from what I thought was going to happen. Either way it's a great and a fitting and realistic ending to a perfect action/drama cop show. If you want any episode from any season of "The Shield" you can go to Ninja Video. They have movies(old and new),Tv shows, cartoons and a lot more.
No comments:
Post a Comment